top of page
REBDUK_Logo_Web 2026 rev 5.png

Floating Data Centre Race: 6.5 MW → 200 MW in Five Years

Sep 27
3 min read

18 September, 2026




Floating Data Centre Race: 6.5 MW → 200 MW in Five Years

Why offshore: Land • Grid • Cooling

UNIT COST


  • 🇨🇳 $9.4K/kW — Shanghai HiCloud / Hailanyun — 24 MW

  • 🇺🇸 $3.6K/kW — Hockema — 25 MW 

  • 🇺🇸 $6.9K/kW — Nautilus Stockton — 6.5 MW

  • $6.6K/kW — Simple average*


TECHNICAL VALIDATION

CAPACITY


  • 🇺🇸 6.5 MW critical IT — Nautilus — Operational since 2021 [6]

  •  🇨🇳 2.3 MW live → 24 MW planned — Shanghai HiCloud / Hailanyun — Operational / Expansion [1] 

  • 🇯🇵 20–73 MW IT — MOL / Kinetics — Development [7] 

  • 🇺🇸 25 MW data power — Hockema — Engineering concept [2] 

  • 🇰🇷 50 MW critical IT — Samsung Heavy Industries — AiP [8] 

  • 🇰🇷 60 MW IT — Hanwha Ocean — AiP / Pre-FEED completed [4] 

  • 🇰🇷 200 MW — basis not publicly specified — Samsung Heavy Industries — AiP [5]


POWER


  • 🇺🇸 Grid, 6.5 MW 

  • 🇨🇳 ~95% offshore wind, 24 MW 

  • 🇺🇸 Diesel / Natural Gas, 25 MW 

  • 🇯🇵 Multi-fuel incl. LNG, 20–73 MW 

  • 🇰🇷 Grid / LNG → SOFC under consideration, 50 MW 

  • 🇰🇷 Gas engines + ESS, 60 MW


COOLING


  • 🇺🇸 Closed-loop river water, 6.5 MW 

  • 🇨🇳 Passive seawater, 24 MW 

  • 🇺🇸 Harbour / bay / river water, 25 MW 

  • 🇯🇵 Seawater / river water, 20–73 MW 

  • 🇰🇷 Seawater, 50 MW 

  • 🇰🇷 Seawater, 60 MW


PLATFORM


  • 🇺🇸 Converted / repurposed barge, 6.5 MW 

  • 🇨🇳 Subsea sealed modules, 24 MW 

  • 🇺🇸 New-build steel barge, 25 MW 

  • 🇯🇵 Converted vessel + Powership, 20–73 MW 

  • 🇰🇷 New-build barge-type vessel, 50 MW 🇰🇷 New-build floating platform, 60 MW


PROJECTS

🇺🇸 Nautilus Data Technologies — Stockton [6]


  • 6.5 MW critical IT 

  • Operational since 2021 

  • Grid 

  • Closed-loop river-water cooling

  • Data centre area: 1,858 m²

  • Leased: 86% 

  • Leased capacity: 5.58 MW 

  • 2026 asking price: $45 million


🇨🇳 Shanghai HiCloud / Hailanyun [1]


  • 2.3 MW live → 24 MW planned

  • Operational / Expansion

  • 95% offshore wind

  • Passive seawater cooling

  • Partners: CCCC / Shenergy / China Telecom Shanghai 

  • Total two-phase investment: ~$226 million


🇺🇸 Hockema Floating Data Centre [2]


  • 25 MW data power

  • Engineering concept

  • Diesel / Natural Gas

  • Harbour / bay / river-water cooling

  • 103.6 × 32 m

  • Draft: 5.5 m 

  • Data floor: 1,858 m²

  • Diesel storage: 1,287 m³

  •  Concept estimate: ~$90 million, excluding processing units


🇯🇵 MOL / Kinetics Floating Data Centre [7]


  • 20–73 MW IT

  • Development / conversion

  • Target: 2027

  • Multi-fuel Powership incl. LNG 

  • Seawater / river-water cooling 

  • 120 × 21.2 m • 9,731 GT

  • Two-vessel system


🇰🇷 Samsung Heavy Industries — 50 MW [8]


  • 50 MW critical IT

  • AiP / design approval

  • Grid / LNG → SOFC under consideration

  • Seawater cooling

  • Commercialisation: Q2 2028

  • Partners: CCEC / Lloyd’s Register / Supermicro / Mousterian / ABB 

  • OpenAI: Joint Floating Data Centre development LOI [3]


🇰🇷 Hanwha Ocean — 60 MW [4]


  • 60 MW IT 

  • AiP / Pre-FEED completed

  • PUE: ≤1.2 • Tier III or higher 

  • 260 × 66 × 17 m

  • Draft: 6.8 m 

  • Power generation: 10.2 MW Gas Engine × (8+2)

  •  ESS: 1.2 MW × 2


🇰🇷 Samsung Heavy Industries — 200 MW [5]


  • 200 MW — basis not publicly specified

  • ABS Approval in Principle

  • 4 August 2026


🇨🇳 Wison New Energies — FPDC [9]


  • Concept study

  • Unveiled: Gastech 2026, Bangkok


We are exploring modular and floating AI data-centre ideas at an early stage and would welcome dialogue with infrastructure investors and strategic financial partners interested in the next generation of AI infrastructure.

METHODOLOGY


  • A. Capacity — MW bases differ: IT, critical IT, data power or unspecified.

  • B. Cost — Shanghai: project investment / 24 MW. Hockema: concept estimate / 25 MW. Nautilus: resale asking price / 6.5 MW. Simple average is arithmetic only; cost bases differ.

  • C. Status — Operational → Development → Concept → AiP / Pre-FEED. AiP ≠ construction or operation.

  • D. Sources — Primary/corporate where available; specialist sources where primary technical data are unavailable.


Information cut-off: 18 September 2026.

SOURCES


  • [1] Shanghai HiCloud / Hailanyun — Lingang / Highlander project disclosures; supplementary developer-sourced reporting.

  • [2] Hockema — WorkBoat; Hockema Floating Data Centre concept.

  • [3] Samsung / OpenAI — Samsung Newsroom; Floating Data Centre development LOI.

  • [4] Hanwha Ocean — Hanwha Maritime Solutions / Gastech 2026 technical materials.

  • [5] Samsung Heavy Industries — 200 MW — ABS; 200 MW Floating Data Centre AiP.

  • [6] Nautilus Stockton — Nautilus project information / Data Center Dynamics.

  • [7] MOL / Kinetics — MOL / Kinetics Floating Data Centre and Powership disclosures.

  • [8] Samsung Heavy Industries — 50 MW — Lloyd’s Register / Samsung Heavy Industries; supplementary SHI-attributed technical reporting.

  • [9] Wison New Energies — FPDC concept, Gastech 2026.


RELATED RESEARCH



Comments, corrections and technical challenge are welcome.

© Alexei Bykov / REBDUK | www.rebduk.com Original research and analysis. Feel free to reference or share — we would appreciate a credit and a link to the original.

 
 
 

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Related posts

© 2017 by REBDUK Registered in England and Wales No: 7091121

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • X
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page